The Little Brain That Never Stops

11:30PM

(Red wakes up screaming for me.)

Red: Make Blue stop kicking me.  Him kicking me.

Me:  Bud, you’re just having a dream.  Go back to sleep.

Red: Him not nice.  I not like him.

Me: Okay.  I’ll put him in timeout.  Go to sleep.  Love you.

 

1:00AM

(Red wakes up screaming for me)

Red: We going to have a prize again soon?

Me:  A prize?

Red:  We gonna have our friends over again?

Me:  Sure, we can plan something soon.

Red: Tomorrow?

Me: No, probably not tomorrow.  But soon.  Now go to sleep.  Goodnight.  I love you.

 

2:15AM

(Red wakes up screaming for me.)

Red:  Mom, I “firsty.”  My “froat” hurts.

Me:  I’ll get you a drink of water.

Red: Mom, you know a new Nemo coming soon?

Me: Yeah, bud.  Go to sleep.

Red: Dad wants to see it.

Me: Okay. Goodnight, Red.  I love you.

 

3:30 AM

(Red wakes up screaming for me.)

Red: Mom, when Christmas going to be here?  And Easter?

Me:  In a couple months, buddy.  Now go to sleep.

Red:  Them come two times in one year?

Me: No, bud.

Red:  I want Santa to bring me Red Skull.

Me: Okay.  It’s time for sleep.  I love you.

 

4:15 AM

(Red wakes up screaming for me)

Red: Mom, can we get a dog?

Me: Maybe someday, Red.  Now go to sleep.

Red: I want a nice puppy.

Me:  Okay, sounds good.  Goodnight.  Love you.

Leave a Reply

